Music Challenge Day 1 – Your Favourite Song

My favourite song?  I have to pick one?  19,260 songs in my iTunes library and I have to pick ONE?  This is going to be harder than I thought.

But the rules say I have to pick one.  Tonight, my favourite is “Wake Up Time” by Tom Petty since it’s been echoing around in my head all day.  It was the first song that came up on my early-morning playlist as I was shaking off the shadows of Saturday night.  Every clock radio should come pre-programmed direct from Sony with this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlT7fj6W50M

“Wake Up Time” is the last track on Petty’s 1994 album Wildflowers.  The music is gorgeous; not the prototypical Rickenbacker jangle of his better-known hits (of which I’m a huge fan), but an ebb and flow of piano and strings and horns in modified waltz time.  Aside from the engaging melody, Petty also has a knack for infusing a fairly basic lyric with emotion and sentimentality that is poignant without being trite.  A couple of my favourite couplets from this song are:

You spend your life dreaming, running ’round in a trance
You hang out forever and still miss the dance
And if you get lucky, you might find someone
To help you get over the pain that will come


The words don’t look like much on the virtual page, but when considered within the context of the song they ring as true as anything I’ve ever heard.  We should all be so lucky as to find someone to not only share our fun times, but shoulder some of the burden during the sad times as well.  I think what Petty’s trying to say is that the journey of life is so much more rewarding if you can wake up, get your act together, and find the right co-pilot.  What a beautiful idea.

So for tonight, that’s my favourite song.

Leave a Reply

