Bucket List Bands

Here’s a new challenge.  List ten bands that you have never seen in concert but, given the chance, you would go see in a heartbeat.  A few ground rules:

  • You have never seen the band (or artist) live in concert before, not even as an act opening for someone else.
  • The band (or artist) has to be touring semi-regularly, so defunct bands like R.E.M. don’t count (that’s a different challenge).
  • The band (or artist) has to be alive, so the Jimi Hendrix Experience doesn’t qualify (that’s a different challenge).

I’ve had the good fortune to see a lot of great bands over the years, so I don’t have to put legendary acts like R.E.M., Radiohead, Wilco, Muse, Arcade Fire, Pink Floyd, The Police, Rush, Smashing Pumpkins, Neil Young, David Bowie, Elvis Costello, Willie Nelson, Bruce Springsteen or Eric Clapton on my list.  However, there are still dozens of acts that I would love to see in concert for the first time.

Here’s my ‘bucket list’ of acts I’d like to see at least once in my lifetime, in alphabetical order:

  1. Beck
  2. The Decemberists
  3. Eels
  4. Fleet Foxes
  5. Fountains of Wayne
  6. Peter Gabriel
  7. Guster
  8. Kraftwerk
  9. My Morning Jacket
  10. Secret Machines
  11. The Soundtrack Of Our Lives
  12. Spoon
  13. The Stone Roses
  14. Teenage Fanclub
  15. The Zombies

Okay, so I couldn’t whittle it down to ten bands.  I would go see any act on this list if they played anywhere near my hometown.  A few of them I’d even cross the country to check out.  Road trips rock.

I would love to see The National headline their own show, but I saw them open for R.E.M. in Burnaby a few years ago so they aren’t eligible for this challenge.  Still, I wish I’d noticed The National were playing the Orpheum in Vancouver last November a little sooner, because I would have jumped on a plane for sure.  Maybe later we’ll do an Opening Acts You’d Like To See As Headliners challenge.  Today’s challenge is all about bands you’ve never seen.

Surely you have your own bucket list of bands – just click “Reply” to post them!

3 thoughts on “Bucket List Bands

  1. Wow, this is an interesting post. For me I don’t think I could come up with 10 without using defunct or dead bands.

    HOWEVER if I have to, it would be or could be:

    David Bowie
    The Cure (they still tour a bit right?)
    Iron and Wine
    Paul Simon
    Tom Waits
    Placebo
    Supergrass would be cool in a smaller venue
    Beck
    Fletwood Mac
    Muse (yah yah I saw them in a bowling alley; that doesn’t count!!)

  2. This is a great question. My list would include:
    My Morning Jacket
    Roger Waters
    Tom Waits
    Flaming Lips
    Elvis Costello
    Sonic Youth (well, it’s a little late now)
    Arctic Monkeys
    Spoon
    The Indelicates
    Zoe Keating

    • Nice list! I should have listed Flaming Lips too, preferably performing on a sunny afternoon at a festival.

      I’ve seen Roger Waters in concert four times (so far) and it’s always a treat. I caught two shows on The Wall tour last year, and they were brilliant. Just a stunning tour de force. I should do a blog about that some day. I’m going to see Roger and Co. again in May of this year.

      Elvis Costello put on a great show. I was in the second row, and the passion that both Elvis and Steve Nieve put into the gig was plain as day. Elvis even sang one song a cappella from right in front of me. Cool stuff.

      I have to admit that I’ve never heard of The Indelicates. Guess I’m off to plug a new search term into Google…

Leave a Reply

