Road Trip!

Your faithful correspondent has been a little lacking in new posts lately.  Had a busy week at work, then had to get ready for a road trip.  I try to get out of town for a concert at least once a year.  It’s fun to hang out in different places, try new restaurants, and walk some new neighbourhoods.

This weekend I’m in the lovely city of Vancouver, BC.  I’ve caught Wilco on every western Canadian tour for the past decade or so, but this year for The Whole Love they’re not coming to my town (at least not yet).  So, mid-winter seemed like a nice time to head out to the west coast for a change of scenery.  The weather has been great here – yesterday was sunny and about 10 degrees C.  I’m told this is unusual for this time of year – typical weather is drizzly and closer to freezing.  But hey, it’s been a weird winter so we’ll enjoy it while it lasts.

Another fun aspect of traveling is looking for new record shops.  In the ‘old days’ I would have gone spelunking for bootleg or hard-to-find CDs.  These days, it’s all about vinyl.  After a quick subway ride and a brief walk, I found a few great shops in Vancouver on Main Street.  The best of the bunch was Red Cat Records.  Lots of selection, knowledgable staff, excellent prices.  Other stores had more used vinyl (some had loads of used vinyl) but I’m mainly a collector of new LPs.

I was really hoping to find the two Jellyfish album re-releases on vinyl, but they were nowhere to be found, even on the Pacific coast.  However, I did find a nice copy of The Shins’ Chutes Too Narrow:

Also found a copy of The Postal Service’s Give Up album, complete with a bonus 12″ with the singles and the b-sides that were released by SubPop back in the day:

My most fortuitous find was this R.E.M. live album, recorded in Dublin. Triple LP plus a bonus DVD – nice!  The band is sadly defunct now, but I’m looking forward to collecting their works on black platters over the coming years.  I know I’ve seen some of their I.R.S. era albums out on newly-released 180g vinyl; I’m expecting Warners to do the same with their latter-day stuff:

With six LPs in hand, I figured I’d better leave the store before I had too many treasures to fit in my carry-on luggage 🙂  Special thanks to Red Cat Records for being such a cool shop.  I will certainly be back the next time I’m in Vancity for a gig.  Maybe they’ll still have that Radiohead live double LP from 2001 that I spotted in the racks.

Looking forward to Wilco and White Denim at the Orpheum Theatre tonight, too!  Stay tuned for more on that.

Leave a Reply

