MCA 1964 – 2012

Today is a sad day in the continuum of popular music.  Adam Yauch, better known as MCA of the Beastie Boys, passed away.  He was 47 years old.

I know all too well what it’s like to have someone leave you too soon.  Words aren’t enough to describe what it’s really like, but ‘devastating’ and ‘gut-wrenching’ are pretty close.  Imagine getting kicked in the stomach over and over again with a steel-toed boot for a few hours.  And that is just the first of many phases of grief.

I think we all hoped for the best when we heard of MCA’s cancer diagnosis a few years ago, but feared for the worst when he was unable to attend his recent Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame induction.  Unfortunately, modern science can cure only a small fraction of the ravages of modern life.

When I was out for a hike this afternoon, “Intergalactic” came up on my ‘shuffle all’ playlist.  I couldn’t decide whether to laugh or cry; I think I split the difference.

Sail on, my Buddhist buddy, my musical mensch.  Thank you for your gifts to humanity, and thanks for bringing a spark of inspiration and innovation to our world.  Without music, our planet would just be a big boring stone flying around the Sun.

Condolences to Adam’s family and friends; at times like this we’re all in this together.

2 thoughts on “MCA 1964 – 2012

  1. Really too bad. I could have sworn it was Mike D that had the health scare a few years ago and I thought he beat it. Now I hear about MCA. Maybe I heard the story wrong at first.
    I saw these guys at Lollapolooza when Ill Communication was out. What a great album to see because of the punk inspired tracks that were on it. Heart Attack Man was sooooo good. It’s funny to hear comments from kids that say they saw them one time and they played a bunch of punk covers. Guess again! A unique style of music that I’ve never seen anyone else even try to pull off.

    • That’s cool that you got to see the Beasties so early in their career. I’ve never seen them in concert, and looks like I never will.

      Punk rock was their secret weapon, especially early on. Their music is impossible to pigeon-hole, there’s so much going on in the mix.

Leave a Reply

