Kudos to Queenstown

Normally when I travel, I like to listen to my iPod and make new associations between places and songs. And I have done a fair amount of that on this trip – more on that later.

But the iPod wasn’t really necessary while in Queenstown. Great music seems to emanate from every store front, car window and pub.

I popped into a shop on Camp Street on Saturday morning and rented a Specialized downhill bike for some near-death experiences riding at the gondola. When I stepped into the shop, the stereo was pumping out “Transcendental Youth” by the Mountain Goats. As I rode out with my hired bike and body armour, I was serenaded by the strains of “Mistaken for Strangers” by The National. American indie rock in New Zealand – who knew?

Later that day, as we loitered downtown eating our Fergburgers, we rocked out to “Supermassive Black Hole” by Muse. The fun continued in the evening when I heard a particularly hip club cranking up LCD Soundsystem’s “Sound of Silver”. That would NEVER happen back home in a million years.

This morning, as we checked out of our hotel, the hotel bar was quietly intoning “Blue Ridge Mountains” by Fleet Foxes. Then at breakfast, I heard “Your Love” by The Outfield at the cafe, which took me back to the summer I spent camping with friends between high school and university.

I think I love this town.

20121125-103032.jpg

One thought on “Kudos to Queenstown

Leave a Reply

