The RAA

I may not understand much about life. I don’t know why it’s sometimes so hard to sustain friendships with those you care about. I don’t understand the pervasive appeal of shitty ‘bands’ like Maroon 5. I can’t fathom why we park on driveways yet we drive on parkways.

Yet I do know that the new album by the Rural Alberta Advantage, titled Mended With Gold, is pretty damn amazing.

IMG_0481.JPG

It’s brilliant, beginning to end. Melodic, rhythmic, and heartwarming in equal measures. This much I know.

2 thoughts on “The RAA

  1. I’m curious about your audio rig! I can see (very nice and Canadian!) PSB tower speakers, a Pro-Ject turntable (I’m gonna guess that’s a 1Xpression Carbon Classic), and a (Sony?) receiver. Do you own any other gear? How do you like that Ortofon 2M Red cartridge? What kind of record clamp are you using? Do you tweak, if so, how/what (speaker cable, power cable, special feet, AC filtration, etc)? Finally, I’d love to hear how you clean your vinyl…thanks!

    • You spotted a lot of the right things in that fuzzy basement photo! Come to think of it, a full rundown of my current listening gear (and my wish list) would make for a good blog post. Maybe I’ll have time to write one this weekend. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

