Valentine

This week wasn’t a banner week in the life of the Craven Hermit. While a few things transpired at work that were feathers in my cap, the side of the ledger dedicated to “personal pursuits” didn’t keep pace. After a miserable hockey game on Friday (my team got thumped), I retreated to one of the few places in town that keeps me balanced – the local record shop.

I came home with recent vinyl releases by Kasabian and TV on the Radio. And I will spin those records in good time, despite already owning them on CD (it’s a little like knowing exactly what you’re going to get for your birthday, yet still feeling a sense of anticipation). But tonight, while Cupid is firing his arrows indiscriminately all over town, I am in the man-cave listening to the new Father John Misty album, I Love You, Honeybear.

IMG_1987

To my ears, it sounds like a complicated, thoughtful, and maybe slightly jaded love letter by Josh Tillman to his wife. And despite all the attendant challenges and heartbreaks, I have to admit to a quantum of jealousy and envy. Yesterday, as I walked to my car from the record shop, I strolled by several couples walking hand-in-hand down Whyte Avenue. Meanwhile, I clutched and caressed my first (and, thus far, only) love in my hand – a few vinyl discs in a paper bag.

It wasn’t the same.

Tomorrow’s another day, and your faithful correspondent will carry on bravely. But tonight, I’m a little lost in thought. If you were lucky enough to spend this evening with someone who smells nice and is good to you, please don’t take your blessings for granted.

Leave a Reply

